Home   |   About Bucks   |   Site Map     Twitter Facebook

2016 News

Commissioners Host Annual “Project Blue Light” Ceremony in Administration Building Rotunda

December 2, 2016

On Thursday, December 1, Bucks County Commissioners Robert G. Loughery, chairman, and Charles H. Martin joined District Attorney Matt Weintraub, Sheriff Edward “Duke” Donnelly and members of the Bucks County Police Chiefs Association to pay tribute to 12 of the county’s fallen law enforcement heroes. For the eighth consecutive year, the Administration Building rotunda is the setting for the Project Blue Light Memorial Wreath. The wreath is illuminated with blue light bulbs and adorned with 12 white ornaments to symbolize the dozen Bucks County law enforcement officers killed in the line of duty since 1914.

The Project Blue Light Ceremony, attendees included the Sheriff, District Attorney, Commissioners Loughery and Martin, as well as other Public Safety officials.Chairman Loughery and Hilltown Township Police Chief Christopher Englehart, representing the Chiefs Association, spoke of the importance of remembering those who have died in the line of duty protecting public safety during this holiday season. “The color blue has been in the news a lot this year,” Chairman Loughery said, offering his thanks for those who protect the community on a daily basis.

In his first Project Blue Light remarks as District Attorney, Mr. Weintraub spoke of the commitment that police officers around the country display, also condemning acts of violence against those in uniform. After those brief remarks, Chief Englehart leaned over to flip the switch and illuminate the six-foot wreath, which overlooks the Memorial Courtyard.

Project Blue Light, a nationwide recognition started in 1988 by Dolly Craig of Philadelphia to memorialize her fallen son-in-law, encourages individuals to include a blue light in their holiday decorations to remember law enforcement officials who have given their lives in the performance of their duties.  It also honors the men and women who continue to work in law enforcement, putting their lives on the lines daily. Those honored on the wreath include:

 Bucks County Project Blue Light Memorial Wreath Honorees
1914 - Constable Henry H. Kolbe  1986 - Deputy Sheriff Thomas A. Bateman 
1927 - County Sheriff Abram L. Kulp  1986 - Deputy Sheriff George M. Warta, Jr. 
1965 - Dublin Borough’s Eli Myers  1993 - County Park Ranger Stanley Flynn 
1972 - Bristol Township’s George Stuckey  2002 - Plumstead Twp.’s Joseph Hanusey 
1975 - Bensalem’s James Armstrong  2005 - Newtown Borough’s Brian Gregg 
1980 - Bensalem’s James Yezzi  2009 - Middletown Twp.’s Christopher Jones