Home   |   About Bucks   |   Site Map     Twitter Facebook


Commissioner's Office of Public Information

Main - Media Room - Gallery - Upper Bucks Service Center - Lower Bucks Service Center - Directions to the Courthouse

Media inquiries or other requests should be directed to Public Information at 215-348-6415. Thank you.

Media Room

Founded in 1682 by William Penn, Bucks County has had a long and distinguished history. Penn named the county after Buckinghamshire, the Penn family home in England. The county seat was located in Bristol from 1705 to 1726, when it was moved 10 miles north, to Newtown, which served as the county seat for 87 years. In 1752, the county, which originally extended to the New York colony line, was reduced to its present boundaries. As settlement crept northward, agitation began for changing the county seat to a more central location. In 1810, Governor Simon Snyder signed an Act appointing a commission to select a new site. The hilltop tract they chose in Doylestown has continued to serve as the seat of Bucks County for almost 200 years. Since 1812, three successive courthouses have occupied the site. For more information on the history of Bucks County, visit About Bucks.

Municipal Map of County (thumbnail)Bucks County is composed of roughly 608 square miles of land and 15.8 square miles of water. There are approximately 620,000 people living within 23 boroughs and 31 townships. (View municipalities map)

Bucks County is famous nationwide for its historic sites, including the Mercer Museum, Moravian Pottery and Tile Works, Washington Crossing Historic Park, Pennsbury Manor, and Pearl S. Buck House.

Our government
Three county commissioners, elected at-large every four years, compose the Board of Bucks County Commissioners. Representing both major political parties, the commissioners are responsible for the adoption and administration of the county operating budget along with oversight of the largest workforce in the county (more than 2,200 employees). Bucks is a class 2A county.

Under the commissioners’ aegis are the chief operating officer and six divisions. Within each division, a number of service-oriented departments are housed. They are:

In addition to the three elected county commissioners, voters elect 10 independent “row officers.” Like the commissioners, they are elected at-large for four-year terms. More information about the county’s row officers is available by clicking on this link.

The Court of Common Pleas of Bucks County is the 7th Judicial District of Pennsylvania. First established in 1683, it hears all criminal, civil, family, and orphan's (probate) matters. The Court consists of 13 judges, and is located in Doylestown. It supervises all Adult ProbationJuvenile Probation (including the Bucks County Youth Center), and Domestic Relations services, the Law Library, and provides administrative services for a twenty-court system of limited jurisdiction courts (special courts) - issuing authority in all felony and misdemeanor cases, and hears all traffic and summary cases. It has concurrent jurisdiction in civil cases where the amount in controversy is less than $12,000.

Commissioners' Office of Public Information
Bucks County Administration Building, 5th floor 
55 East Court Street 
Doylestown, PA 18901 
Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.